Louis Cha or Cha Leung-yung (查良鏞, Pinyin: Zhā Liángyōng), known to most by his penname Jinyong (金庸) or Kam-yung - created by splitting the last character of his name - is one of the most influential Chinese-language novelists. He is widely regarded as the finest Chinese wuxia ("martial arts and chivalry") writer.

Born in mainland China, he is the founder of the popular Hong Kong newspaper Ming Pao. He has published fifteen novels (mostly in wuxia style), most of which first appeared on his newspaper. His style, which contains some European elements, is widely derivated from the classic style.

His Chinese martial arts novels have earned great popularity in Chinese-speaking areas. Every single of his novels has been rewritten into films, episodes on TV and radio. Characters in his novels are well-known to the public. Jinology (金庸學) is used to term the study of his works.

Cha rewrote the Chinese wuxia genre by adding history and popular culture to a previously formulaic genre. His novels are marked by strong characterizations and plot, and are classified as the "new school (xīnpài) wuxia", as opposed to the fanciful "old school" (jiùpài).

Some of his novels used to be banned in the People's Republic of China as they were thought to be a mockery of Mao Zedong, others were banned in the Republic of China as they were thought to be in support of the Chinese Communist Party, and some were banned by both Chinese governments. The popularity of his novels is not restricted to either China, Taiwan or Hong Kong.

He was also one of the writers who drafted the Hong Kong Basic Law.

List of Novels:

  • Book and Sword: Gratitude and Revenge - 書劍恩仇錄 (1955)
  • Sword Stained with Royal Blood - 碧血劍 (1956)
  • The Eagle-Shooting Heroes - 射鵰英雄傳 (1957)
  • Flying Fox of Snowy Mountain - 雪山飛狐 (1959)
  • The Return of the Eagle Heroes - 神鵰俠侶 (1959)
  • The Young Flying Fox - 飛狐外傳 (1960)
  • Swordswoman Riding West on White Horse 白馬嘯西風 (1961)
  • Lovers' Sabres 鴛鴦刀 (1961)
  • Heaven Sword and Dragon Sabre - 倚天屠龍記 (1961)
  • Requiem of Ling Sing - 連城訣 (1963)
  • Demi-Gods and Semi-Devils - 天龍八部 (1963)
  • Way of the Heroes - 俠客行 (1965)
  • The Proud Smiling Wanderer - 笑傲江湖 (1967)
  • Deer and the Cauldron, aka Duke of Mount Deer - 鹿鼎記 (1969)
  • Sword of the Yueh maiden - 越女剑 (1970)

" size=20>


Browse articles alphabetically:
#0">0 | #1">1 | #2">2 | #3">3 | #4">4 | #5">5 | #6">6 | #7">7 | #8">8 | #9">9 | #_">_ | #A">A | #B">B | #C">C | #D">D | #E">E | #F">F | #G">G | #H">H | #I">I | #J">J | #K">K | #L">L | #M">M | #N">N | #O">O | #P">P | #Q">Q | #R">R | #S">S | #T">T | #U">U | #V">V | #W">W | #X">X | #Y">Y | #Z">Z