AFC Wimbledon

AFC Wimbledon is a semi-professional English football team representing the area of Wimbledon and London Borough of Merton in London, though they currently play their games in nearby Kingston upon Thames. They currently play in the Premier Division of the Seagrave Haulage Combined Counties League.

The club was founded in 2002 when The Football Association allowed the owners of Wimbledon F.C to relocate to the city of Milton Keynes on the far side of Buckinghamshire. Although the old team was unable to move for more than a year, their traditional local support dried up almost immediately. The Wombles mascot and Wimbledon heraldic badge were denied to them.

All organized supporters' groups that had followed the old club switched allegiance to AFC Wimbledon, and the club has consistently drawn greater attendances, playing in a small regional league, than the old club, playing much better-known and better-supported opposition in the First division of The Football League. Supporters of other clubs around the country have generally united in a boycott of Wimbledon F.C. (often mocked as "Franchise FC") in a protest against the club's relocation which is perceived as a move totally alien to the traditions of the English game.

In their first competitive season AFC Wimbledon started slowly, but won their last 11 league games to finish the season in third place, narrowly missing promotion to the Ryman Isthmian League. In their second, they won their first 21 league games before a draw January 10th 2004, giving them 32 consecutive wins in league games over two seasons. By this time, AFC Wimbledon was the only club in England at any level of the football pyramid to maintain a perfect league record for the current season, and all others not to have lost had drawn more times.

Controlled by "The Dons Trust", a supporters' group, AFC Wimbledon launched a share issue in 2003 to finance the acquisition of the Kingsmeadow ground, which they intend to operate as The Fans' Stadium. The club hopes to play there until they can obtain a ground in Wimbledon proper, where no "Wimbledon" team has played since the closure of Wimbledon FC's Plough Lane ground in 1991.

Table of contents
1 External links

External links

Official sites

Unofficial sites

" size=20>


Browse articles alphabetically:
#0">0 | #1">1 | #2">2 | #3">3 | #4">4 | #5">5 | #6">6 | #7">7 | #8">8 | #9">9 | #_">_ | #A">A | #B">B | #C">C | #D">D | #E">E | #F">F | #G">G | #H">H | #I">I | #J">J | #K">K | #L">L | #M">M | #N">N | #O">O | #P">P | #Q">Q | #R">R | #S">S | #T">T | #U">U | #V">V | #W">W | #X">X | #Y">Y | #Z">Z